Strong Minds. Kind Hearts.

Parent Quaker Life Committee

Parent Quaker Life Committee Events

The PQLC meets the first Wednesday of every month at 1:45 p.m. in the Hospitality Room, located adjacent to the Matinecock Meeting House. All parents are welcome to attend. The PQLC is committed to supporting, promoting and enhancing Quaker life at Friends Academy.

Minutes
Wednesday, Oct. 1, 2014
Wednesday, Nov. 5, 2014
Wednesday, Dec. 3, 2014
Wednesday, Jan. 7, 2015
Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Parent Workshops

Friends Academy offers a series of workshops for parents to learn about Quaker life at FA.

Quakerism in our Community Series
A set of two workshops for parents exploring Friends education and how Quakerism enriches our children's growth throughout their FA experience.

Parents New to Quakerism
A fall workshop for newly admitted families to learn about what it means to be part of a Friends school community.

Parent Workshops with Teacher John
A series of lunch and breakfast gatherings, as well as a fall and spring Parenting workshop that explore a variety of topics through a Quaker lens.

Questions? Please contact co-clerks Irem Konur and Bita Mosleh Solhjou for more information.

2017-18 Parent Quaker Life Committee (PQLC) Events

Fri. Sept. 8
Parent Quaker Life Kick-Off Breakfast - 8:15 a.m. (Jackson House)

Sat. Sept. 16
Family Community Service: Sandwich Making - 10 a.m. (Commons)

Wed. Sept. 27
"Welcome All Parents" Meeting for Worship - 2 p.m. (Meeting House)

Sat. Oct. 1
Family Community Service: HorseAbility

Sat. Oct. 21
Family Community Service: Sandwich Making - 10 am (Commons

Wed. Nov. 1
History Walk - 8:15 am (Meeting House)

Mon. Nov. 20
"Breaking Bread" Thanksgiving Meeting for Worship - 2 pm (Meeting House)

Wed. Dec. 6
PQLC Service Day: Holidays gifts and cards for Cohen's Children's Center - 3:30 pm (Commons)

Fri. Dec. 8
PQLC Service Day: Glen Cove Men's Shelter - 6:30 pm (First Presbyterian Church, Glen Cove)

Thurs. Jan. 18
Family Meeting for Worship - 6:15 pm (Meeting House)

Sat. Jan. 20
Family Community Service: Sandwich Making - 10 am (Commons)

Fri. Jan. 26
PQLC Service Day: Glen Cove Men's Shelter - 6:30 pm (First Presbyterian Church, Glen Cove)

Wed. Feb. 14
Parent Quaker Life Meeting - 8:15 am (Jackson House)

Sat. March 3
Family Community Service: Sandwich Making - 10 am (Commons)

Wed. March 7
Parent Quaker Life Meeting - 8:15 am (Jackson House)

Fri. March 9
PQLC Service Day: Glen Cove Men's Shelter - 6:30 pm (First Presbyterian Church, Glen Cove)

Wed. April 11
Parent Quaker Life Meeting - 8:15 am (Jackson House)

Wed. May 16
Closing Parent Meeting for Worship - 2pm (Meeting House)