Strong Minds. Kind Hearts.
Friends Academy Celebrates Unity Day with First Community Group Meetings

On Thursday, October 10, the Friends Academy community wore orange to honor Unity Day, part of Bullying Prevention Month. The day was also marked with the first meetings of all-school Community Groups, which bring together students and adults in all divisions to strengthen bonds across campus.

Alumni Awards

Distinguished Alumni Award
At Friends we prepare our students to be citizens with strong minds and kind hearts, people who lead by example. Each year Friends Academy presents the Distinguished Alumni Award to someone who has let his/her life speak. It is our hope that others will find the recipient’s life inspirational and will be motivated to devote themselves to a life of service. 

Distinguished Alumni Award Winners
1990     Robert Albertson ’45  
1991     Frederick Willits ’30 
1992     Saidie Scudder ’24 
1994     Esther Hicks Emory ’19 
1995     Leon Rushmore ’27 
1996     Victoria Baum Bjorklund ’70 
1997     Evette Beckett-Tuggle ’74 
1998     Angela Van Rynbach ‘65
1999     Elisabeth Salzhauer Axel ’83 
2000     Stephen Mills ’77 
2001     Donald Smith ’44 
2002     Diana Dickson Wittmer ‘67
2003     Kathleen Catapano ’95 
2004     Elizabeth Keefer ‘66
2005     Warren Titus ‘44
2006     Peter Darbee ’71 
2007     James Greene ’74 
2008     Thomas Carter ’59 
2009     John Gambling ’69 
2010     Susan Stein Danoff ’60 
2011     Peter Galbraith ’56 
2012     Barbara Boyle Weaner ’73 
2013     Marja Brandon ’79 
2014     Sharon McGee Crary ’89 
2015     Paul Hand ’68 
2016     Laurence Corash ’61 
2017     Todd Jacobson ’93 
2018     William M. Wicker ’67
Alumni Association Award
For the past several years, the Friends Academy Alumni Association has presented its Alumni Association Award to a graduate of distinction. The board has continued a theme that this award be presented to a member of the 50th reunion Class, and it is the highest honor given by the Alumni Association each year. Members of the 50th reunion class are invited to nominate classmates by sharing unselfish acts of kindness or special accomplishments; note that criteria is left purposefully non-specific to allow for the myriad of ways that “distinction” can be defined. 
Alumni Association Award Winners
2009     Donald Pollitt ’34 
2010     Ward Burian ’54 
2011     Craig White ’61 
2012     Vincent Van Brunt ’62 
2013     William Sugden ’63 
2014     Lesley Birkett Jacobs ’64 
2015     Angela Van Rynbach ’65 
2016     Nancy Rauch Douzinas ’66 
2017     Diana Dickson-Witmer ’67 
2018     Lesley Graham ’68